• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Online dating with herpes

So I just signed on to a dating site and I decided to meet the person in person. I'm completely new to the online dating and I haven't dated much in general. This February I will have a year with ghsv1. While on my meet and greet the guy made a comment about a situation. And his comment was he doesn't want to catch an std. Which I get it. If I had a choice I wouldn't want one either. But that comment made me think about needing to have the herpes talk eventually. It's to say it is with him, but in general. I don't see him as potential partner but more as a friend with no benefits. He seems really nice.

Max_G

Great to meet you :)

So I've had a little experience with online dating .. and the first thing I'll say is "Buyer Beware" ... LOL ;)

While there are a lot of good people who are looking for love, many are whack jobs and I've recently figured out a lot are rebounding or are serial daters. So first piece of advice. Proceed with every one of your prospects with caution. Don't rush anything. You don't have anything but what they say to go by. Noone to go to to ask about their past. Nothing. So state up front you want to proceed slowly and then stick to it. Don't let them rush you.