• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

New to all of this, need some giudance?

Hi everyone, I am so glad I found this site. I am new to this whole thing and really need some more answers than I'm getting off Google. So I was just diagnosed with HSV1&2, I wasn't experiencing any OB's, but I saw some pictures that made me think I had it. I believe this is something I have had for at least 16 years, if not longer. I always ignored it because the only symptoms I had were a couple of blisters on my genitals. I would only get these after a lot of sex or after masturbating to much. So I always thought it was a friction burn. I have also never had a cold sore a day in my life, never. So I never connected the two. I will say that I was very scared when I first found out, but I am starting to come to terms with it. I do have some questions though.

1. If this is something I have had for so long, what are the chances I could catch it somewhere else on my body?

2. Is it possible that I only have HSV 1&2 on my genitals, and not oral?

3. Is there any way tell what part of your body you are infected in. I know that the two kinds prefer certain areas, but how do you know if you don't have symptoms.

I have been freaking out since I found out that I am going to get this on my face or in my eyes, or some where else on my body. I also have not touched myself(sexually) since I found out. If I have had this for so long, why am I freaking out so much now? Should I just go back to my regular lifestyle and not worry about spreading it?