• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Breaking up is hard to do... especially with low self esteem

I've had herpes for months now, and have been on an emotional roller coaster ever since. I am new to the dating game, since I got divorced not too long ago. Of course I decided to jump right in the game... and then BOOM---herpes from my first post-divorce relationship.

The guy who transmitted to me said he didn't know he was carrying the virus. I honestly believe he didn't know. His reaction seemed to be one of genuine shock and embarrassment. I feel hurt, lonely, confused, scared, and sometimes angry. I don't think my anger is justified, but trying to deny it only makes it worse.

Dating has been hard enough without herpes. I mean... where to meet people, what are men really looking for, having to shave my legs, apparently no one picks up the phone to call anymore (if I'm honest I don't really want to talk on the phone), what vague texts mean, etc.

Mostly, I want sex. The sex in my marriage was just ok, and the sex with this new guy... well, oh my god. I had no idea that sex could even be like that... Seriously! I have read that giving details on here is ok... so here goes. In the past 15 years, I had an orgasm from intercourse maybe 3 times. The first time I slept with the new guy it happened 3 times that night. Each time after that was just as satisfying.