• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

clear understanding

I am new to this i found out i had in October. though it looked like a huge pimple anf the docs were sure it was a pimple, which when my test came back i had herpes. I was sad, depress, upset because i am a person who always get tested for everything and only been with 3 PPL. i was also scared my bf would leave me which he.didn't and said we will live a normal life. what is weird is my blood test is always negative but when they took a culture test it was positive. I just want to know How long does it take for the outbreak to become less? also can i still eat anything or do i have to cut of food. It's frustrating.

Hi Prin,

From what I've read, and it seems true in my experience as well, the first year is when you'll get the most frequent outbreaks, then it starts to settle down. I've had it 6 years now and I break out once a year if that and I literally have to visually notice I'm broken out because I don't feel any discomfort any more. It gets better. Not sure about the food thing, I've never altered my diet.

Hello Unbroken,'

Thank you for responding. That is good to hear. I'm just scared it won't ease up. And for the food, I asked because i lost 20 lbs when i heard u had it because of depression and when i am sick,which when I first had an OB I had a fever for a month I tend not to eat. and i am trying to gain my weight back and Iget scared. it my trigger it. fyi even before this I have always been an ocd/freaking over everything, which probably doesn't help lol