• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Any H+ mums on board?

@Trying

Hello and Welcome!

I've been HSV2+ for 35 yrs - since my first sexual experience at 17 - I also have HSV1 orally since I was 4 yrs old.

I have two H- daughters ... aged 25 and 28 ... and a 3 yr old H- granddaughter. My first was born by cerearean because I was scared into it. I later learned I didn't need to have had it and managed to fight to have a natural birth for my second. When I had them (80's) there wasn't the internet and google out there to scare the crap out of me and make me worry about every little thing I did. I just took care to not kiss them if I had an Oral OB and that was about it.

Herpes does not live for long at all (usually minutes at best except in "perfect" conditions like in a Petri dish in a lab) outside of the body.... and even if/when you might, say, share a towel, the minuscule amount of live virus that might contact someone on healthy skin is so small it's not likely to transfer before it dies.

Look - we are ALL (H+ or H-) walking Petri Dishes to be honest. We are always coming in contact with bacteria and virus and such. Our bodies usually do a really great job of killing anything that we come in contact with before it harms us.

The Herpes virus really requires skin-to-skin contact. If you have an open lesion, that is shedding on steroids and you want to just plain use common sense hygiene regarding washing hands when you touch the area and keeping it covered and not let ANYONE in contact with the area. Pure and simple.