• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

I just need a little encouragement

Hey guys. It has been a little time since I posted last. I got diagnosed in January and I have pretty much kept myself busy (started new job, started another Masters degree program)!to keep my mind off of this reality. I have pretty much stayed clear of male interaction as well. I am just learning to accept what is. However there is one thing that is truly bothering me. One of my Facebook friends posted a question in his status asking would people date someone that has disclosed they had herpes. Some of the things people were posting in response to this question was ignorant and out of order. Someone even went so far to say that everyone with herpes got it because they were irresponsible. Do you think we will ever overcome this ignorant stigma?

I think the most important thing to ask is, will YOU overcome this stigma?

ive pretty much given up on people not being dumbasses in general. its the way our culture is headed. the news, the music, the movies, the sports. its all about image not substance, nor reality.

it may sound pessimistic but if you don't expect much form people, they rarely disappoint.

Well put @Inka