• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

A physicists' thoughts on "one-night-stand" or getting herpes per-exposure probabilities

Thank you all for making this very friendly and supportive community. I'm new and it has helped a lot.

I'm a physicist who now works in infectious disease research (irony!), and one thing I've been reading about is the single-exposure probability calculation present in many posts, most comprehensively here. Though they get to the right answer eventually, I'd like to try my shot at consolidating and simplifying the problem.

I think the clear take away from all the analysis is that you can feel comfortable stating the following - anything more or less is over or understating it:

"The chances of transmitting genital herpes (HSV2) from a single sex act is much lower than 1%."

PLEASE do not state anything more than this. I'll do the calculations below, and they will shock you. But please resist the temptation to cite the actual results that arise from them. I'll go into details at the end.

I think the more pedagogical way to do this is to assume the transmission rate is 1% and prove it is wrong ("rejecting the null hypothesis"). This is equivalent to saying we have a 100-sided die, and we roll it twice a week for a year (I assume Friday and Saturday nights!). What are the chances you never roll a 69?