• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

One and Done? AntiVirals from the Start

I was diagnosed in April and had a bad first outbreak (as far as range of symptoms but not visible severity).

I immediately started acyclovir during that first outbreak and now maintain a dose of 2x a day. I am supposed to increase to 3x daily for 5 days if I think I'm having an outbreak or about to have one.

I have done the increased dose once bc I had the prodome or whatever (tingles). But nothing else happened.

Right now I'm studying for the bar. HIGHHHH stress, so just waiting for an outbreak to come on. My biggest fear is that it'll happen during the two exam days. I know worrying is only gonna increase the chances and I have been doing a good job of forgetting about my heroes completely.

I know everyone is different by my doctor said I may never have another outbreak again. Hard for me to believe because I feel like I'm so prone to sickness and injury.

Does anyone who is taking antivirals have insight to share? what are the chances I will get one this soon or how often would one expect outbreaks? Is it possible to have "mini" outbreaks lasting less than a day!?

I believe in both western and eastern medicine but as of now I am NOT interested in stopping the pills. I take medication for other things and do not find being on medication forever if it is something that helps me.