• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

More GHSV questions, type 1

Hello everyone -

I've been scrolling through this forum regularly for a few months. I have gone pretty far back in the history of posts and I have been keeping current for at least the last two months. So when you are discouraged that people aren't necessarily responding to your posts, please know that you are still helping others feel human.

I just got my official diagnosis in March of this year, although I am 99% positive I have had this at least 4 years from a cheating boyfriend. I went to my OB after I realized standard tests do not cover HSV and I have had a chronic itch for what seems like forever. Lo and behold, HSV1, and what I can only logically believe to be of the genital variety.

Like I said, I have been doing my research and I am comfortable with the diagnosis, for the most part. It still sucks but its not the end of the world. I want to ask a few things though that I am having trouble searching specifically for.

-- How long do your GHSV1 outbreaks last about? I shaved my lady bits before 4th of July weekend, I got my period on Friday and I generally have sensitive skin. To be honest, I have NO IDEA what an outbreak is supposed to look or feel like. I don't remember having a primary outbreak as described by many others. The only thing I remember is having one large bump.