• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

To disclose or not...

Okay, so just a little info about what's been going on. I've been seeing a guy since April. We're not official yet. He wants to take things slow, relationship wise, because he was hurt in his past relationship. I'm currently studying abroad for a few weeks right now and we're still talking. About a month ago, I told him that I'm waiting til I get married to have sex. (I got H from oral). He was really surprised, but in the end he said that he's going to respect my decision.

Well, I'm starting to psych myself out. My plan was to tell him that I'm waiting to have sex, see how that goes. And if he took it well (which he did), then I'd disclose my H story with him. I'm really scared to tell him though. I'm at the point where I either need to tell him or I need to back out of this relationship.

I just feel like once I get to a certain point in a relationship and things start to get more physical, I start to feel really insecure and like I'm just going to disappoint the guy I'm seeing. The word "herpes" has such a negative connotation around it and I just hate saying the word out loud. It makes me feel less than. And sad. I guess I don't know what I'm asking in this post here, but any advice would be great.

So - as HH said, we will tell you to disclose... but only when sex is imminent. Or at least when you know that you are going that direction.