• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Incredible Shock in Misdiagnosis turning my Relationship Toxic

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to this so I'm not totally sure where I should start without rambling too much. Brace yourselves. In March, I had gotten severely sick, flu like symptoms, vaginal blisters just excruciating pain that completely freaked me out into thinking I had herpes. I went to urgent care not once but three times and as many times as I asked about it the doctor was "positive" I did not have herpes because I tested positive from BV. This made more sense at the time because I had been in a pretty questionable hot tub the day before I experienced the symptoms. So I let it be until a few weeks later when the bumps came back. I went to another urgent care who swore they were just tears and I was overreacting, but I forced a IgG test anyway. It came back positive for HSV 1 antibodies and I freaked. Until I did my research and realized I've had cold sores since I was a kid but made 0 connection to the vaginal blisters so I finally got to book an appointment with my primary doctor who then did a culture test and 2 days later called and said I was negative so since then which was about April, I've been totally fine. No bumps or anything, back to the same sex life I had before with no issues to them or myself.