• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Valacyclovir side effects

Riggs

Hello All,

I am a 38 year vet that has never taken a suppressive drug for my HSV2 condition. Life happens and I now find myself taking Valacyclovir for suppressive therapy with a non H partner. When I am about to have an ob my lower spine will numb or tingle and now since I have been taking the suppressive drug my back kinda feels numb all the time. My partner and I have not been intimate to date, but I sense it could be near. I think it is the drug, but I also do not want to expose my partner if it is not the drug. Anyone have this sensation while taking Valacyclovir.

Riggs

@Riggs I've seen multiple posts here from people who had this experience of heightened or chronic prodrome symptoms after starting antivirals. IIRC, these people switched to another antiviral and had better success. In your case, maybe it would be worthwhile to try Acyclovir.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Thank you for suggesting acyclovir. I started taking Valtrex in January and noticed a significant increase in prodome symptoms compared to the past 6 months when I was not on a suppressive therapy. I never thought it could have been a result of taking Valtrex, I just assumed i was more stressed out or eating poorly so I thought it was my fault in a way (silly, I know. I'm still coming to terms with it). Either way, the increase of symptoms resulting in no outbreak has led to a lot of anxiety and I was becoming very fruatrated.