• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

new to life with herpes

Hello everyone,

I just turned 21 in March, and as a birthday gift I had my first outbreak of herpes. I am studying abroad and had to do this all on my own and in French and it was a really really difficult time for me. I am doing a lot better, and miraculously found these websites quickly, but I am still struggling from time to time. Neither of my partners in the past 6 months seem to have it, but also I'm not sure they did the right tests. I like to be giving but in this situation I'd rather be the receiver because I would hate to have given it to the guy I'm with now, we get along great and he is supportive but so far we haven't had sex since I got diagnosed and had my outbreak (beginning of April). --the one I am with will get another test, the one before isn't being as cooperative--

Well, I don't exactly know where I'm going with this but I just feel so young to have this forever and everything here is very supportive but there are moments when I feel so alone. I was talking to a friend of a friend and I don't know how it came up but she said that she would rather be buried alive than have herpes...Now, I know that is extreme but it scares me because it does represent the social stigma that is very prevalent in relation to herpes. ...

So, my happiness and self-strength comes and goes in waves, and I look you all of you for support. I have support from my parents but I haven't told any of my close friends yet because I am abroad and wanted to talk in person...