• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

How to interpret my results and the next step?

Shane

This is my first time joining a forum to ask for help. I have obsessively researched herpes and everything pertaining until I feel like I have driven myself insane, as I’m sure most of you have. With that being said here is my story.

I am a 25yr old male who at the beginning of December had a sexual encounter with someone who proceeded to tell me they were hsv-1 positive in their genitals afterwards. I honestly have been wreckless hardly ever using protection and this time was not any different (poor choice on my part). Of course I went to my doctor afterwards and had blood work done. This was 4 days after the sexual encounter that it was performed.

An igm blood test was done and the results were 1.51, I was then diagnosed with herpes.

After researching I have discovered how flawed this test is and the possibilities of false positives. How probable is this?

1) I am wondering how I should interpret this test and should further testing be done?

2) Was that an adequate amount of time for antibodies to develop resulting in a positive test? I have not had any physical symptoms although I felt like I had pain in my hips, however I also workout religiously and could have been paranoid.

After I received my results I talked to my parents who are both positive for hsv-1 as well.

I am unsure whether I could have a false positive. Or if I contracted it from my parents growing up, I would be shocked if I got it after a one night stand but I know this is possible.