• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Transmitting herpes via oral sex?

Hi H Oppers!

A question I received via email that I'll share here just in case you've pondered the same thing:

"What confuses me about herpes is the following: If a man performs oral sex on a woman who has genital herpes, can he contract oral herpes? If a woman has oral herpes and performs oral sex on a man, could she transmit genital herpes to him?"

This content is for informational purposes only. This information does not constitute medical advice or diagnosis. I'm not a medical professional, so please take this as friendly peer support. 

Helpful resources:

• mr_hopp changed the title to Transmitting herpes via oral sex?

Assuming there is no active outbreak, of course, then we're talking about the risks of transmission from the herpes-positive partner's genitals to the herpes-negative partners's mouth via asymptomatic viral shedding. Whether it's a woman's mouth or a man's mouth who is doing the oral sexing, the rate of transmission to that mouth will be the same. The difference between sexes is in genital transmission rates, which lies in the fact that penises have less mucous membranes than vaginas, so women are ~2x as likely to get genital herpes than men — 15.9% of women have HSV-2 vs. 8.2% of men. [CDC]

Back to the oral transmission rates ... specifically answering the first question (genital-to-oral transmission), there are different scenarios (see the free handouts for the % breakdown):