• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Vitamins/ Suppressive therapy for HSV 1?

I was diagnosed with HSV 1 a few weeks ago and wanted to know what kind of precautions people with it take to prevent OB's and such. I asked my doctor about anti-virals but she said since it's HSV 1 and so by default usually more mild than HSV 2 I didn't "need" to be on supressive medication? She also said it didn't do much to reduce my risk of transmitting it to someone else anyway.

My questions are:

-Is she correct about this? Or should I be on suppressive medication, especially seeing as it's my first year? Or should I wait for my body to adjust?

-What would be the best kind of vitamin supplements/ foods to avoid? Are there any that have definite links to reducing OB's? I read somewhere that Lysine helps. Right now I've just started taking Vitamin B's and C, and working out etc.

I would appreciate any comments/help! Thanks

Doctors differ in what they tell you about antivirals.....from what i've read on here they can significantly reduce risks of transmission. Not positive on the percentages, @wcsdancer can help with that one! Im in a relationship now with a ghsv1 negative guy (but who has it orally) so I chose to do suppressive just to minimize the risk of transmission to almost 0%. If i wasnt in a relationship I would probably not be on them though. I hate taking meds every day, and I'd like to see how my body handles the virus on its own.