• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Some advice for someone getting back into the dating scene?

So I'm new to this whole diagnosis. I am grateful for this site because this is what has gotten me through my rough days.

I am now doing ok with the whole diagnosis and realize it's not that big a deal. I'm ready to get back out there and start living my life again.

I have met someone who also has herpes, we haven't been sexual.. he's been beyond patient with me. However I would like to get back to my sexual self again. It's been 4 months since my diagnosis but I'm unsure if it is hsv1 or hsv2. The swabs haven't been detecting which strain it is, but my bloodwork came back positive. And we were only sure of it because I have never had a cold sore in my life. Anyway the issue.. can I still have oral sex with my new partner? Will I get oral herpes if I do that? And vice versa? I just don't want to show up with my arsenal of dental dams to go along with the condoms he's already purchased. I know he doesn't get oral cold sores either.. so I don't want to add to our already embarrassing issues. I mean at least you can't see when we're having an OB. And I know he is also paranoid about getting it other places as well cause he is also fairly new to the diagnosis and doesn't know which strain he has either.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.