• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Just got rejected and don't know what to do

I found out I have HSV 2 almost a year ago. I was in a 2 year relationship at the time and when I disclosed to my then boyfriend he was cool about it and we continued on as if nothing had happened. He chose not to get tested and he has never had any signs or symptoms of HSV. Upon diagnosis I chose to take suppression therapy and have carried on. I have since ended that relationship. I have been hesitant to get back out there and date again since I have no experience disclosing other than with my then boyfriend and I am not sure how other guys will react. However, I did meet someone great! We hit it off, had lots in common, had lots of fun and had an amazing physical chemistry. Over the course of a month we went out seven times. We started to get intimate and it was apparent to me that we were getting close to having sex. Basically done everything but take our pants off. I felt at the time I needed to disclose that I have HSV. So I did so in a casual conversation. I told him what we would need to do ie: use condoms and I would continue the anti-virals. I told him of the very small risk of transmission. He had questions and I answered them. Encouraged him to do his own research. He seemed ok with it. However his behavior started to change after that. Not contacting me as much and being less flirty. We went out two more times after that. About a week later he told me that he had thought a lot about it and basically couldn't wrap his mind around it. He was concerned about the "passion" aspect.