• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Intercourse and herpes

Hello. I just got in a long distance relationship and only take my antivirals if I have an outbreak. I was going to start taking them a few weeks prior to me and my bfs planned meetings. I did this time and the first time we had sex I had an outbreak. Would it be a good idea to double up on the dosage a few days prior to meeting up? Do you think that would reduce the chance of having an outbreak? This time we didnt use lubricant and I know the doctor mentioned friction will cause a breakout. Thanks!!!

I am no doctor but in my experience lube is your best friend. I would talk to your doctor about that as far as doubling up because that depends a lot as far as duration and frequency of outbreaks. Personally I take one a day and double up during an outbreak after many conversations with my doctor and them understanding a little bit about my sex life.