• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

My First (Family) Herpes Disclosure.....

I have known I've had genital herpes (HSV2) for almost two years now. I'm no longer with the man that (I think) gave me herpes, and I've not dated many men that are not 'in the club' so I've only had to disclose to a non-herpes partner once. So to say I have limited experience in disclosing is probably an understatement! But I've been okay with that. When I first found out, I didn't want anyone to know. Anger, fear, shame and a big old helping of "how-could-I-be-so-stupid??" was what I went through.

I bounced back pretty quickly, because I've been through so much worse in my life, I realized I could deal with this. I have always wanted to keep this pretty private. I am in a great place with my acceptance of herpes, but I don't want to be judged by someone else's preconceived ideas or total ignorance about the virus. So I have not told any of my family or friends. 

After breaking up with my non-herpes boyfriend, I decided it was time to connect with people who were going through the same thing. I needed to talk to someone who I could relate to. I called the local Planned Parenthood offices in my town, and was told about the monthly meetings for people with HSV/HPV, which is connected to a Yahoo group and a Meetup group in my area. I signed up immediately.