• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

First positive experience today- and a little smile

Hi everyone- so after being semi-sure I had herpes all along my doctor finally diagnosed it yesterday. I sat in the parking lot and cried hysterically for about 20 minutes, came home and let my daughter watch tv while I wallowed in self pity and sat online reading forums. And today I went to work (I am a nurse) and tried to take care of my patients all the while thinking about herpes.

Most of the time I spent wondering how I got this disease. Or I should say when I contracted it genitally. I suffer from cold sores all my life. I have been with 2 men in the last ten years my daughters father and my current fiancée. Neither of them have it and both test negative for type 2. I also test negative for type 2 as well so we are assuming it is hsv1.

Anyway I thought so hard I made my head spin. I had some symptoms right before I was pregnant just itching and discharge so did I have it even then and not know it- or it is more possible I contracted it through oral- my fiancée is a superstar at that.

I guess it really doesn't matter in the end. I am trying not to run circles around something that will always be a mystery. I am trying not to think I'm a dirty skank. Yesterday I didn't think it was possible to smile. But I did today. I was reading posts from Herrytheherp

During my lunch break because he may be the most optimistic hilarious person I have ever not-met