• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Diagnosed yesterday morning and looking for a bit of advice

Hi, I'm 18 and was diagnosed with HSV-2 yesterday. I'm not upset or angry about it at all, just kind of surprised. I acknowledge that it's something a lot of people live with and can be very manageable.

My biggest frustration is that my first outbreak is atrocious. I'm a freshman in college and it has prevented me from going to classes both yesterday and all of today because my right labia is swollen about 3 times the normal size and I can't walk without pain. Especially if I attempt to wear anything other than extremely loose sweats, and it still hurts so badly that I am limping horribly. I can't take baths because I live in the dorms, and have two roommates so my time in the bathroom is already limited. I'm obviously keeping my diagnosis a secret from them because they are both very conservative young women and would be terrified if I told them.

I am on a prescribed pill that I take 3 times a day as well as numbing ointment. This helps, but really only when I'm laying down. Walking is still excruciating. I wasn't stressed out by my diagnosis, but missing classes because I can't walk across campus has me stressed.