• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Telling my best friend and my boyfriend that I have herpes

So, I was not prepared to be writing in here so quickly. No actually, I was not prepared to write in here at all - I was 100% sure that anyone I told would reject me. Silly, I know, but as the H is still very fresh news I'm still learning to be rational about it. I was also very worried that being unable to be neutral about it would have a negative effect on their reactions.

(The first person I told was my mum (we are pretty close) as soon as I got the diagnosis, and both of my parents have been really supportive during these first few days. I don't really count that as a real disclosure, because we literally talk about everything.)

Yesterday I told my best friend and housemate. She had bought me flowers as she thought I needed cheering up after lying in bed for several days with fever, and of course I ended up crying a river because she was so nice, and I ended up telling her about it. In my hed I had practiced this explanation, how to say things and in which order, but I abandoned my script. Before I could explain very much at all, though, I got the biggest (and most needed) hug of my life, and she told me she gets cold sores all the time and that it's not a big deal. Immediately after telling her and crying in her arms for a little while, I started feeling so much better and more relaxed about the whole situation. It was like a stone fell from my chest, and I ended up sitting on the kitchen floor with my friend, giggling about the whole thing. I love her so much. :)