• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Ashamed feel like a leper

Got H from a guy I'm seeing and I am miserable and depressed like I can never date again. I do not sleep around I keep long relationships. I feel like I don't like the guy I'm seeing and that makes me sick as I don't think I want to be with anyone I'm so ashamed. How can I get over this how can my sex life be normal if ever again. :(

Hi Andromeda , how u feel is normal and if u read the posts and stories.... Everyone pulls thru but one day at a time pace. I am new to this so certainly can relate. Herpes has nothing to do with sleeping around ( as dancer often said, it's a. Equal opportunity condition) .

Can I ask how u were diagnosed ? How do you know the guy u were seeing gave it to you ? Are you hsv 1 or hsv2 or both?

I am not sure how to get back to normal myself but I have faith whatever the outcome might be will be. Sometimes life throw us a curve ball then it's up to us to learn to catch it. I keep telling myself that there are so many other things that could be worst ( right now it feels like the end of world) such as cancer, losing your limbs , having life threatening diseases like MS , etc.

I once read that when a group of people come together with their issues, all of them walked away keeping their own issue bc grass is not greener on the otherside!

You came to the right place for support and this is the first step for being positive.