• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

I have a date tomorrow. I don't know what to do.

I have met a guy. Pretty much what I want and look for in guys. Anyways, tomorrow is our first official date. We have talked for about a week and a half now I guess. We are going to have dinner tomorrow night. This is my first attempt at dating since my diagnosis. I am terrified to say the least.

I already like this guy a good bit. He has a lot of the qualities I look for so it seems.

I have always preferred the bandaid effect in life with anything, and this was the same before H. It hurts less that way. I want to just go ahead and get this out of the way, telling him that is. That way he can make the decision now and before I get my heart involved and have it broken into a million pieces. I feel as though I am being fake with him by holding it in and wasting his time and money on someone and something he probably won't accept.

Advice on the just go ahead and lets get it out of the way would be appreciated. I really don't know what to do. I don't want to involve my feelings and heart for it to be crushed which makes me feel like I should just go ahead and "rip the bandaid" now. And I surely don't want someone to feel like they wasted their time and money and invested themselves into someone who was just a waste of it all. I don't want someone to feel that way. The other part of me says, let him get to know me and fall for me then do it. But at that point, I will have fallen for him and while it will be easy for him to walk away, I will be the one picking up more pieces of my heart.