• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Day 1: How herpes is making me rethink love and compassion

I have been lurking here for the past few days just reading the deeply personal stories you all have put forward, trying to internalize the supportive responses, sometimes feeling encouraged, sometimes – okay, maybe quite a few times – crying. Before I introduce myself I wanted to say, with heartfelt appreciation, how amazing I think you all are for making this place a community and for filling it with so much compassion.

I’m a medical student. A week ago I noticed that I had tonsillitis and that my right cervical lymph nodes were swollen. Over the next two days I developed fever with intense headaches but dismissed it as a bad case of the flu. Then I felt those two little bumps. My mind flashed back to the week before when I nicked myself there on the left labia majora while shaving as I was getting ready to hang out with the guy I had been seeing for the past month. I hoped and hoped that the cut was just inflamed from a little infection by cutaneous bacteria, but in my heart I knew that it was an STI. Ten minutes of desperate research (from an incognito Chrome browser) confirmed my fear that my flu-like reaction was in fact due to a primary infection with HSV-2.