• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

I am new to having herpes! My story yo!

Hi all,

I was told I had herpes HSV 2 about 1 month ago. Like all of you I could not believe it... I had just got out of a 4 year relationship on good terms. My ex partner then got a full STI test, and came back positive for HSV1 and HSV2. Although she never had any outbreaks when I was with her, as we all know you can carry the virus for years and never have an outbreak. I got tested and discovered I indeed have HSV 2. Who's to say that I didn't give it to her? You just don't know, and there is really no point in stressing about who gave it to who. It's done.. you have it, and it's now time to deal with it.

Being recently single and 24 then being told you have HSV2 sucks yes... BUT! All of you have to realise is that this really isn't a big deal. I am so lucky that I am mature enough now and that I know this truly is not a big deal. Yes it is a nuisance and can be "embarrassing". But lets ask the guy who is paralysed from the neck down if getting his ass wiped by a nurse or having herpes is embarrassing? Let's ask the person who at 26 has ALS and has been giving 3-5 years to live, during that time loosing all movement of his body and ability to speak if herpes is a big deal?

Do you have cancer? No. Do you have ALS? No. Do you have MS? No. Do you have Muscular Dystrophy? No. Do you have a brain injury? No. Are you paralysed? No. Do you have AIDS? No. Are you blind? No.