• Want to be a part of a supportive community? Join the H Opp community for free.

Welcome to the Herpes Opportunity Support Forum! We are a supportive and positive group to help you discover and live your Opportunity. Together, we can shed the shame and embrace vulnerability and true connection. Because who you are is more important than what you have. Get your free e-book and handouts here: https://www.herpesopportunity.com/lp/ebook

Casual sex and disclosure

Consider this: How would you feel if the tables were turned and the other person reasoned that it's not necessary to disclose that they have HIV just because it's casual sex? It's just common human decency and integrity to disclose anything that might impact someone else's life. (And no, I'm not saying herpes is the same impact as HIV, just using this as a thought experiment.) 

• Like 5

This content is for informational purposes only. This information does not constitute medical advice or diagnosis. I'm not a medical professional, so please take this as friendly peer support. 

Helpful resources:

@Next step,

I believe disclosing ought to be done before having sex. Thinking about it in reverse is right, how would you feel if someone else knowingly had HSV 2 and didn't disclose to you before sex, even if you didn't get it? I wouldn't not want someone risking my health without my knowledge no matter how slim the risk was. 

By the way, this doesn't mean casual sex is gone, it's just a little harder. I have heard success stories of people using causal dating apps, disclosing right away and having luck. There is also the positive singles dating website/app that allows you to meet other people with HSV.